On March 23rd a reception in the Snyder Center's Title IX room, hosted by Director of Athletics, Lisa Joel was held to celebrate this year's recipients of Phillips Academy's Senior Athletic Awards.

2024 Senior Athletic Awards:

The Abbot Athletic Award - Awarded annually to a girl who has excelled in varsity sports and whose loyalty and good sportsmanship exemplify the highest ideals of Andover athletics.

Recipient: Patricia A. Tran

Schubert Key - Awarded annually to a member of the Senior Class who has excelled in varsity athletics and who has exemplified the qualities of sound character, cheerfulness, and good sportsmanship on the athletic field.

Recipient: Peter J. Elliott

Press Club Award - Awarded to a boy and a girl who have shown through their performances on the athletic fields that they have been the most capable athletes of the past year.

Female Recipient: Shea R. Freda

Male Recipient: Diego L. Velez

Raymond T. Tippett Memorial Award - Awarded annually to a senior member of the varsity football or baseball team whose loyalty, courage, and modesty exemplify the character of Ray Tippett and the best traditions of Andover athletics. Established in 1962 by members of the class of 1945 for a prize in memory of their classmate, Raymond T. Tippett.

Recipient: Joseph A. Carrara

Phelps Award - In honor of those student-athletes whose sportsmanship, loyalty, humility, and commitment to the success of others is representative of Richard J. Phelps and Phillips Academy athletics.

Female Recipient: Ava Murphy

Male Recipient: Alexandro F. Armour, Jr.

Harold J. Sheridan Award - To the student who has contributed most to the intramural athletic program. Funded in 1956 by bequest of Fannie J. Sheridan, in memory of her grandson Harold Joseph Sheridan, Jr., class of 1943 who gave his life for his country as a member of the United States Marine Corps in September 1944. First awarded in 1957. (A gold medal).

Recipient: Laerdon Y. Kim

James P. McLane ’49 Award - Awarded annually to two members of the senior class whose ethic, effort, and relentlessness are in the spirit of Olympic Gold Medalist Jim McLane ’49.

Recipient: Ellis E. Denby

Recipient: Emily Turnbull