A virtual gathering, hosted by Director of Athletics, Lisa Joel which included an address by Interim Head of School Jim Ventre '79 was held to celebrate the Class of 2020 and announce this year's recipients of Phillips Academy's Senior Athletic Awards.

The recipients were also presented their awards by an impressive array of alums, former coaches, and family members via the Andover Athletics Instagram account.

The 2020 Senior Athletic Awards:

Abbot Athletic Award - Awarded annually to an athlete who has excelled in varsity sports and whose loyalty and good sportsmanship exemplify the highest ideals of Andover athletics.

Recipient: Grace Hitchcock.

Schubert Key - Awarded annually to a member of the Senior Class who has excelled in varsity athletics and who has exemplified the qualities of sound character, cheerfulness, and good sportsmanship on the athletic field.

Recipient: Lillian Feeney.

Press Club Award - Awarded to two athletes who have shown through their performances in competition that they have been the most capable athletes of the past year.

Recipients: Marsiol Nugent & Samuel Donchi.

Raymond T. Tippett Memorial Award - Presented annually to a senior member of the varsity football or baseball team whose loyalty, courage and modesty exemplify the character of Ray Tippett and the best traditions of Andover athletics. Established in 1962 by members of the class of 1945 for a prize in memory of their classmate, Raymond T. Tippett.

Recipient: Lucas Stowe.

Harold J. Sheridan Award - To the student who has contributed most to the intramural athletic program. Funded in 1956 by the bequest of Fannie J. Sheridan, in memory of her grandson Harold Joseph Sheridan, Jr., class of 1943 who gave his life for his country as a member of the United States Marine Corps in September 1944. First awarded in 1957.

Recipient: Xiaoyu Xie.

Phelps Award - In honor of those student-athletes whose sportsmanship, loyalty, humility, and commitment to the success of others is representative of Richard J. Phelps and Phillips Academy athletics.

Recipients: Dallion Johnson & Victoria Kadiri.

The Yale Bowl, awarded to a member of the graduating class who has attained the highest proficiency in scholarship and athletics, was announced on June 7th, during commencement.

Recipient: Alex Fleury.

The tribute concluded with a slideshow featuring Big Blue senior athletes: